Town Leadership / Town Council

Glastonbury has a Town Council/Town Manager form of government.  The Town Council consists of nine (9) members serving two (2) year terms. Members normally shall be elected at regular town elections, which take place biennially on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November. Council members serve without compensation except for actual and reasonable expenses incurred in the performance of official duties.  The legislative power of the town is vested exclusively in the council as contained in the Town Charter. 

Meeting Schedule, Minutes, and Agendas

Regular Town Council meetings are held monthly on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday.  For the months of August and December, the Council meets on the 1st Tuesday only.

Meetings are held at Town Hall-Council Chambers, located on the second level of Glastonbury Town Hall (2155 Main Street).

Click here to view recent Town Council Minutes and Agendas.

View Town Council Minutes and Agendas as filed with the Town Clerk here.

Click here to view videos of Town Meetings on Demand.



Current Town Council members, as of the November election are:

Thomas P. Gullotta (D), Chairman

Lawrence Niland (D), Vice Chairman

Deborah A. Carroll (D), Majority Leader

Stewart "Chip" Beckett III, (R) Minority Leader 

Kurt P. Cavanaugh (R)

Mary LaChance (D)

Jacob (Jake) McChesney (D)

Lillian Tanski (R)

Whit C. Osgood (R)

Town Manager

Richard J. Johnson
Town Hall (2155 Main Street | Glastonbury, CT 06033)
Telephone: (860) 652-7500

Town Council - 2019 -2021