Skip to page body Home About Us I Want To... Residents Visitors Business Departments

Community Development [Building/Zoning, Fire Marshal, Health, Planning]

Our Services

The Community Development Department is responsible for the management of all land use and building activities, including Town planning, environmental planning, building inspection and zoning enforcement, fire prevention, investigation and code enforcement, healthy community initiatives, well and septic system permitting and food service licensing. Permit and guidance recommendations are provided to all boards/ commissions involved in land use and building activities including the Town Plan & Zoning Commission, Conservation Commission/Inland Wetlands and Watercourses Agency, Economic Development Commission, Zoning Board of Appeals and the Historic District Commission.

Mission Statement

To provide high quality, efficient and comprehensive services through technology, communications and professionalism to ensure continuing enhancement of the quality of life.

The Department consists of four Divisions.  The Director of the department is Ken Leslie and can be located in the Community Development office on the third floor of Town Hall.



Community Development Divisions
Community Development/Planning & Environmental
Building Inspection/Zoning Enforcement
Fire Marshal’s Office
Health Department

Last updated: 9/15/2014 11:27:30 AM